Poem: Tokaji

Love dies on the vine, yes
Between us it spoils in the heat
But even sour grapes can rot just right
I make liquid golden light
Drink it down
Smile as I turn from whence I came
And dance forward to where I go now
Bold
Wild
Free
Tokaji kiss sings in the waning autumn rain
I spread my wings
Aha!
You and this world are not-so-big now.

06-03-2008

I was listening to S. J. Tucker’s “Bad Apple Lament” when I got this
idea. When life gives you sour grapes, make Tokaji.

About Shawna Jacques

All posts subject to change without notice.

Posted on 2011/05/03, in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

