Poem: Interesting (June ’11 Poem-a-day, Day 2)

I? Am awesome.
No, really, I am.
So, why is it then that I
can’t talk to you,
interesting,
intriguing,
…(hot)…
beyond things like
“I like your shoes,”
or
“I’m really good at…

…awkward silences”
or
“What is your opinion on water?”
Fascinating people,
why must I
s-stutter
and
and stammer
and…

…stall?
What is it about you all
that halts my thoughts
and stills my tongue?
I want to be someone interesting,
eloquent,
fascinating,
like you.
I like you.
I’d like to know you.
I hope you like me.
Please forgive me,
I don’t know what to say.

…do you enjoy public buses?
Nope, still have no idea.

About Shawna Jacques

All posts subject to change without notice.

Posted on 2011/06/02, in Poem-a-day, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

