Filk: Battle of Serenity

Battle of Serenity
ttto Foggy Dew (traditional)

As down the slope one bloody night
in a battle fierce rode I
There armed lines
of fighting men
in uniforms passed me by

No help would come
not even some
and we knew we could not flee
And the Alliance bell
Brought us into hell
at the battle of Serenity

Right proudly in our coats of brown
We’d hung out the flag of war
‘Twas better to die
freely in the sky
than as chattel or Alliance whores.

And in great pain
Falling blood like rain
We fought to gain the valley
While the Allied ones
with their blazing guns
shot us down at Serenity

Twas Alliance bade our free wills go
that an empire could be born
Not a one could abide
Tyranny so wide
Still surrendered that dreadful morn

Oh, had I died
by my sargeant’s side
Where I’m now I’d never be
Their names I will keep
Where my comrades sleep
in the valley of Serenity

But the brave who fell
Their tales we tell
As though our fallen were here
The browncoats who died
Still lay far and wide
In my memory these long, long years

And the worlds did gaze
in a wounded haze
at their kin they could no longer see
They had gone to fight
to keep freedom’s light
Alive down in Serenity

In my thoughts I return
To where Hera burned
my heart with grief is sore
For we parted back then
With valiant men
And women who we won’t see more

But to and fro
in our ship we go
and here in the black we’re free!
The war is done
And though we never won
We found our Serenity

About Shawna Jacques

All posts subject to change without notice.

Posted on 2011/07/02, in Filk, Firefly and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oh – *serious* wow!

  2. Irish Mutt

    As an Irishman and a wannabe Browncoat: thank you. These lyrics are pretty epic. Props to you!

  3. Car-less Hoonigan

    Beautiful! Absolutely beautiful.

Leave a Reply

